WorldBowling ABF ABF Tour JAB Club
    search this site
2018 Macao-China International Open
June 15- 23, 2018 • COTAI Bowling Centre, Macau, China
Three Indonesian advances to Round 2

22nd June, Macau: Despoerado squad qualifier, Diwan Rezaldy led team-mate, Ryan Lalisang into the Men's Open Round 2 Masters finals of the 2018 Macao-China International Open after finishing fourth in Round 1 while Novie Phang survived to make Round 2 in the women's division.

014 and 2015 Macao-China Open champion, Tomoyuki Sasaki got off the block with a sizzling 279 only to lead desperado squad qualifier, James Lui of Hong by one pin. Several finalists also posted big games with first perfect gamer, Shoumick Datta of India firing 277 and Bolleby 266.

But Sasaki's lead was immediately overtaken by 2017 Penang Pesta champion, Ryan Lalisang after the latter posted consistent games of 257 and 256. Jimmy Cheung of Hong Kong trailed in second by 3 pins as Sasaki slipped down to third.

Another strong game from Lalisang allowed the Indonesian to extend his lead over Chueng to 28 pins. Al Shaikh and Bolleby stayed closed in third and fourth positions. Lalisang held on to the lead for another game with 248 before stumbling to a poor 187 in the fifth game.

A second Japanese, Yuki Tsutsumi fired back-to-back 260s in the second and third games and almost rolled the tournament's third 300 when he shot 299 in the fourth game to trail in second. A third Japanese, Yuhi Shinbata made his way up to share the lead after the fifth game with Indonesia's Diwan Rezaldy.

The Saudi remained in third and Lalisang slipping down to fourth position. Al Shaikh led for the next two games before the 24-year-old Shinbata ended strongest with 276 to win the round with 1943.

Diwan Rezaldy finishing fourth to advance to Round 2 finals

Al Shaikh settled for second with 1901 while Bolleby, who also ended strongly with 268, clinched third spot with 1877 and Rezaldy finished fourth position with 1870. Chueng rolled the tournament's third perfect game in the eighth to complete the top 5 with 1852.

Lalisang settled for sixth position with 1850. Two other Indonesian men, Billy Mohammad Islam and Yeri Ramadona, who needed big games in order to make the cut, were unable to do so in the highly contested Round 1 finals and ended up in 23rd and 26th position respectively.

The top 18 advanced to Round 2 finals joined by the three local and three overseas seeded qualifiers. They will contest Round 2 finals from scratch and the top 6 with a highest pinfall will proceed to the Stepladder shootout finals.

Meanwhile, Thailand's Kantaporn Singhabuboha won the Women's Open Round 1 finals with 1759. Malaysia's Hee Kar Yen finished second with 1732 while Korea's Lee Hyeon Gyung stormed home to clinch third spot with 1711.

Kim Hyun A of Korea and early pace-setter, Chan Shuk Han of Hong Kong rounded out the top 5 with 1710 and 1667 respectively. Indonesia's only women finalist, Novie Phang made the cut for the next round in 9th position with 1598.

Macau's Hui Tong squeezed into the next round in 12th position with 1547 as Nattida Sertluecha of Thailand missed by 4 pins finishing 13th position. Defending champion, Radin Nur Najwa of Malaysia failed to get into her strides and ended in a disappointing 23rd position.

Sole Indonesian women, Novie Phang making the cut for Round 2

The top 12 advanced to Round 2 finals joined by the three local and three overseas seeded qualifiers. They will resume with Round 2 finals from scratch tomorrow morning and the top 6 with a highest pinfall will proceed to the Stepladder shootout finals.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Macau, China.

Detailed Scores
  Youth MQ
  Women's Graded MQ
  Men's Graded MQ
  Senior's MQ
  Women's O MQ
  Men's O MQ
  Youth Mstr
  Senior's Mstr
  Women's Graded Mstr
  Men's Graded Mstr
  Women's O Mstr Rnd 1
  Men's O Mstr Rnd 1
  Women's O Mstr Rnd 2
  Men's O Mstr Rnd 2
  Women's O Stepladder
  Men's O Stepladder
Sanctioned by
World Bowling Logo
World Bowling
ABF logo
Asian Bowling Federation
Main Sponsor

Host Organizer

Macau-China Bowling Association
 Copyright © Jaya Ancol Bowling Center, 2005 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. Designed and maintained by NetMedia Services